DVI-D, DVI-I and VGA

Ask for help on any software/hardware related problems. .

Moderators: 0xA110C, Admins

Post Reply
vultusprime
New Member
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: May 22nd 2016 - 6:17 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

DVI-D, DVI-I and VGA

Post by vultusprime » October 14th 2018 - 1:54 pm

Hello everyone!
I am going to buy a new PC in the next month or so and I've just realized that there could be a little problem.

Right now my old, and trusty, computer has a GTX 760 with a DVI-I port, my 22" monitor is only VGA. This is easily solved with a simple DVI-I - VGA adapter.

The new PC will either have a GTX 1060 or a GTX 1070. Both VGA cards only have DVI-D ports and the old adapter will not work. It will require an active adapter, more expensive but it should solve the problem.

My question is this: I also have an old Aten KVM switch because I still want to be able to use my old pc. But the KVM is only VGA.
How will I be able to connect it all. Is it even possible?

PC1 DVI-D
PC2 DVI-I
Monitor VGA
KVM switch VGA

The monitor will connect to KVM (VGA to VGA)
The DVI-I will simply use the adapter connected to the GTX 760 card as before.
But what about the other one. Will I connect the active adapter (DVI-D to VGA) to the new GTX 1060/1070 card or to the KVM switch?
Can this set-up work?

User avatar
drcoolmor
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 27032
Joined: June 7th 2010 - 1:12 am
P2P Clients: eMule
Azureus
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 968 times

Re: DVI-D, DVI-I and VGA

Post by drcoolmor » October 14th 2018 - 5:48 pm

not sure what your saying, but why don't you just use a cheap HDMI to VGA Adapter? both cards have HDMI ports.
Image

sandyp
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 15957
Joined: May 25th 2010 - 2:24 pm
Location: scotland
Has thanked: 375 times
Been thanked: 826 times

Re: DVI-D, DVI-I and VGA

Post by sandyp » October 17th 2018 - 11:55 pm

if yyou gott 2 pcs joined together I bought a 6 way box cant rrememberr name of it yyou can connect both devises and keyboards and mice as well and its just the presss of a button to move between botth and as for other just use hdmi cables or if its digital port not sure get a digital cable better rresolution than hdmi that's what I use seet to 60 in graphics in settings for yyour card

User avatar
Geths
Spectre
Spectre
Posts: 145
Joined: May 14th 2011 - 2:16 am
P2P Clients: eMule
Location: Earth
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: DVI-D, DVI-I and VGA

Post by Geths » November 10th 2018 - 11:37 pm

reminds me of when i used to run a buffbot in DAOC lol.
----------------------------------------
DONT FEED THE SQUIRRELS

User avatar
0xA110C
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 645
Joined: July 29th 2015 - 11:42 pm
P2P Clients: aMule
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Contact:

Re: DVI-D, DVI-I and VGA

Post by 0xA110C » November 13th 2018 - 4:43 am

It seems like you already have it figured out. The only difference is the active adapter. You connect the new machine's video card to the KVM switch using the adapter, so that you can easily switch between computers. Your monitor keeps being connected to the switch of course.
Phantom IRC Chat Webclient
#phantom@irc.station51.net

Post Reply

Return to “General Help and Support”