PS - layers windows collapsed

Share your artwork, post a gallery, learn new skills, comment on and enjoy others work

Moderator: MarrowMan

User avatar
dukster64
Phantom VIP
Phantom VIP
Posts: 18522
Joined: February 12th 2007 - 8:03 pm
Location: South West France
Been thanked: 1 time

PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by dukster64 » May 26th 2011 - 2:14 am

Right, so I don't know how I managed ot do this (or even when I did it) - but it's annoying the hell out of me :

Whenever I start up photoshop cs5, the layers window on the right is ALWAYS collapsed... & I have to manually maximize it.
See below for a screenie of what I mean :

Image


I've tried bunch of stuff, but it never seems to fix it :
- tried resetting the layouts
- tried creating a new workspace with the layers open
- looked through the preferences, no joy

Whether it's with a custom workspace or any of the default ones, if I maximize the layers window or activate it in window --> layers, it just goes back to collapsed on the next start-up. :ranty:

Any ideas on how I can fix that before I go crazy ? :beg:
(without re-installing would be nice :laugh: )

User avatar
neelpeel
Pissy Pants
Pissy Pants
Posts: 4565
Joined: September 13th 2008 - 12:29 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by neelpeel » May 26th 2011 - 9:19 am

This is the same for the portable version...but you only need to click the layers tab to expand it...hardly worth going crazy over!!! ??? :whistle:

User avatar
dukster64
Phantom VIP
Phantom VIP
Posts: 18522
Joined: February 12th 2007 - 8:03 pm
Location: South West France
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by dukster64 » May 26th 2011 - 11:53 am

yeah I know it's not a major issue... but still - I don't remember it doing that before (doesn't it usually start up with the layers pane expanded ?)

User avatar
Ionut
Phantom
Phantom
Posts: 3902
Joined: August 14th 2009 - 5:10 pm
P2P Clients: eMule (v0.50a) [MorphXT v12.6]

Re: PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by Ionut » May 26th 2011 - 11:56 am

It does in my PS xD
Image

User avatar
dukster64
Phantom VIP
Phantom VIP
Posts: 18522
Joined: February 12th 2007 - 8:03 pm
Location: South West France
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by dukster64 » May 26th 2011 - 11:59 am

So I'm not crazy then ! :lol1: :lol1: :lol1:

User avatar
Ionut
Phantom
Phantom
Posts: 3902
Joined: August 14th 2009 - 5:10 pm
P2P Clients: eMule (v0.50a) [MorphXT v12.6]

Re: PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by Ionut » May 26th 2011 - 12:03 pm

Not at all xD

Have you saved a lot of things on your workspace?
Else try resetting the workspace :)

Window - Workspace - Reset (Whatever your workspace is called)
Image

User avatar
dukster64
Phantom VIP
Phantom VIP
Posts: 18522
Joined: February 12th 2007 - 8:03 pm
Location: South West France
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by dukster64 » May 26th 2011 - 2:17 pm

yeah did that... the workspace goes back to normal with layers maximized & it all looks good

but when I open PS again, it's collapsed again ::-(:

User avatar
Ionut
Phantom
Phantom
Posts: 3902
Joined: August 14th 2009 - 5:10 pm
P2P Clients: eMule (v0.50a) [MorphXT v12.6]

Re: PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by Ionut » May 26th 2011 - 2:19 pm

Now, that is strange :hmm:
Image

User avatar
athealan
All Star
All Star
Posts: 10777
Joined: August 10th 2006 - 8:31 pm
Location: Yorkshire Gods Kingdom

Re: PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by athealan » May 26th 2011 - 5:14 pm

dukster64 wrote:So I'm not crazy then ! :lol1: :lol1: :lol1:
You really want ME to answer that ????

Here is a little tool I found to fix your problem mate.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Image
Image
Image

User avatar
drcoolmor
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 26522
Joined: June 7th 2010 - 1:12 am
P2P Clients: eMule
Azureus
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 854 times

Re: PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by drcoolmor » May 26th 2011 - 5:33 pm

Select the layers or layer sets in the Layers panel, right-click (Windows) and choose Convert To Smart Object.
See if it helps.
Image

User avatar
dukster64
Phantom VIP
Phantom VIP
Posts: 18522
Joined: February 12th 2007 - 8:03 pm
Location: South West France
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by dukster64 » May 26th 2011 - 6:57 pm

no joy ::-(:

User avatar
Thanx-4-Shr'n
Phantom VIP
Phantom VIP
Posts: 1306
Joined: June 22nd 2007 - 9:08 pm

Re: PS - layers windows collapsed

Post by Thanx-4-Shr'n » May 26th 2011 - 9:18 pm

Just saw this,
I think you'll have to reset your preferences to sort this issue:
save me typing

I had a similar issue a while back with the workspace and this is the only way I could sort it. :dunno:
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Open Canvas”